Department of Buddhist Affairs

latest news

Nirvana for the Mahanayake Thero

The Supreme Leader of the Sri Lanka Amarapura Maha Nikaya, Dhammapala Wanshalankara Saddharma Keerthi Sri Tripitaka Visharada Keerthi Sri Sasana Sobhana Sri Sumangala Vidyawatansa Aggamaha Panditha Most Venerable Kotugoda Dhammawasa Thero

Born on January 26, 1933, to planters Adavitharana Haramanis Rodrigo and Celestina Rodrigo, who lived in the village of Kotugoda, Gampaha, our protagonist was Ven. Educated at the Parama Dhamma Chethiya Pirivena Sevana in Ratmalana, Ven. Kotugoda Thero entered the Vidyodaya Maha Pirivena at Maligakanda in 1952.

Eventually, the Dhamma sermons of Kotugoda Thero were heard throughout Cyril as the name of a wise Dharmadhara Bhikkhu. It did not take long for our leader to become very popular, giving a new meaning to the existing style of preaching. After the demise of his Guru Thero on 14th May 1967, Ven. Kotugoda Thero, who became the Chief Incumbent of Mount Lavinia Dharmapalarama, soon renovated all the temples to the delight of the devotees.

The Sri Lanka Amarapura Sangha Sabha conferred on him the title of Supreme Mahanayake of the Kotugoda Dhammapala Nayaka Thero due to his religious role as the Mahanayake Thero of the Amarapura Chapter of the Sri Lanka Amarapura Maha Nikaya and his patriarchal characteristics. I express my deepest condolences on the demise of the Venerable Kotugoda Mahanayake Thero, who preached the Dhamma to all the people of the world, not only to the island of Sri Lanka, but also to all the people on the subject of the understanding of life, human virtues and the achievement of the world. May the Most Venerable Kotugoda Dhammawasa Maha Nayaka Thero receive Ama Maha Nivansapa.

Reopening of Buddhist Dhamma Schools in the Western Province 2021. 04.25

The Ministry of Education has already informed that the schools for all grades in the Western Province will be opened on 19.04.2021. Accordingly, it has been decided with the consent of the All Ceylon Sasanarakshaka Board to start Dhamma Schools in the Western Province on 25.04.2021.

Dhamma School Grade Examination 2021. 05. 09

The Dhamma School Grade Examination scheduled to be held on 04.04.2021 will not be held on that day and it has been decided to hold the examination after the proper commencement of the activities of the school system with the consent of the All Ceylon Sasanarakshaka Board.

The Dhamma School Grade Examination is scheduled to be held island wide on 09.05.2021 and the examination will be conducted as per the instructions and guidelines provided by the Health Divisions using all the Buddhist Dhamma School Examination Centers in the island.

Grade 06 from 08.30 am to 09.30 am 1 pm

Grade 07 from 09.45 am to 10.45 am 1 pm

Grade 08 from 11.00 am to 12.30 pm 1 hour 30 minutes

Grade 09 1.00 pm to 02.30 pm 1 hour 30 minutes

Grade 10 from 08.30 am to 10.30 am 2 pm


Silmatha is a new training institute for education

Renovated Anuradhapura Arippuwa New Sangamitta Silmatha Training Institute based on the objective of developing the Tripitaka Dharma knowledge of the Venerable Silmanis who are engaged in the work of guiding the society in the right direction. The day was offered to the Sasana at an auspicious time at 11.30 am.


The Faculty of Education provides the opportunity for the monks to study the Tripitaka and its supervision, guidance and lectures are given by the lecturers of the Bhikku University, Anuradhapura. Activated as a residential course, it is open on weekdays from 1 p.m. It will be held from 8.00 am to 4.00 pm and only a maximum of 30 monks will be selected for each course.

Residential and all facilities are provided by the Department of Buddhist Affairs. This course aims to develop the knowledge of the Tripitaka of the Venerable Silmanis, to propagate the Dhamma using the learned Tripitaka Dhamma facts, to socialize the correct Tripitaka and to dispel misconceptions regarding the Tripitaka. Information on the course can be obtained from the Development Division of the Department of Buddhist Affairs and the Buddhist Affairs Officers of the Divisional Secretariats.